skip to content | Accessibility Information

European Philosophy Group


The European Philosophy Group is a research centre that fosters high quality research in the subject by providing an inter-departmental locus of communication, organization and support. Representing research-active staff and research students from the Department of Politics and Philosophy and the Department of Interdisciplinary Studies, the group encourages and facilitates activity in three main areas: conferences, seminars and symposia; post-graduate and doctoral study; and publication.


The group acquired formal status in 2004 and currently operates as part of the Institute of Humanities and Social Science Research. Work submitted by members of the group to 2008’s Research Assessment Exercise was awarded a rating of 2.4, confirming international recognition of its quality. 40 percent of the research was further certified either ‘internationally excellent’ or ‘world-leading’.


The group has recently been successful in enlarging the philosophy department, making possible the two most recent staff appointments: Dr Anna Bergqvist, whose research interests lie in aesthetics and value theory; and Dr Lloyd Strickland, who specialises in early modern philosophy and the philosophy of religion.

Conferences Seminars and Symposia

Each year a programme of standalone conferences and workshops is complemented by a weekly series of Human Sciences Seminar 2012. Forthcoming events are detailed below. The particulars of previous colloquia, which have included guest speakers such as Bernard Stiegler and Catherine Malabou (who we welcome back this September), are detailed on the EPG Workshops page. The Human Sciences Seminar series, coordinated this year by Dr Mark Sinclair, is open to all and convenes 6 times in each of the autumn and spring terms, welcoming visiting speakers to present their research. Please contact Dr Sinclair for inclusion on the HSS mailing list for this year’s calendar.

5-7 September 2012

The Joint Conference of The Society for European Philosophy and The Forum for European Philosophy (in association with the London Graduate School).


5-7 November 2012

One-day Philosophy Workshops on Evidence, Value and Practice:


5th – Evidence-based Practice and Policy

6th – Reasoning and Evidence in Medicine: beyond the EBM debate?

7th – Values Based Practice: Critical Engagements


Location: MMU Cheshire, Crewe Campus. Room TBC.

Contact organizers Michael Loughlin and Phil Hutchinson for further details.



Post-Graduate and Doctoral Study


Members offer expertise in the supervision of doctoral study in the following areas:

19th, 20th and 21st century European philosophy

Philosophy of social science and professional practice

History of philosophy


Applied epistemology and ethics

Political philosophy


Past PhD completions include works on Kant, Lyotard and Deleuze, and a number contributing to Husserl studies and Heidegger studies. Current PhD projects include work in the fields of consciousness and cognitive science and particularism in meta-ethics, and studies of Kant, Foucault, Hegel, Nancy and Heidegger. Individual staff profiles detailing specific supervision specialisms can be found here, and abstracts of some current students’ projects are found on the student profiles page.


The MA in European Philosophy coordinated by Dr Keith Crome focuses upon the post-Kantian continental tradition, from the late 18th century through to the contemporary. The taught course consists of three two-part modules reflecting the research activity of the staff and a 15-20,000 word research project.




The Journal of the British Society for Phenomenology, a triannually published internationally peer reviewed journal, is currently edited from the Philosophy Section, by editor Dr Ullrich Haase and assistant editor Dr Keith Crome.


The annual philosophy thematic editions of the Journal of Evaluation in Clinical Practice, an international journal read by philosophers, medical researchers and health professionals across the globe, are edited from MMU Cheshire by Dr Michael Loughlin.


Full publication histories for individual members are available on their profiles, indexed at the staff profiles page.